According to a Harris Poll, nearly half – 49 percent – of respondents were likely to consult a website on which they can post legal questions for lawyers to answer. This is especially common among people involved in a legal conflict.
The Internet can also be a useful tool for finding affordable legal assistance, as just over half of lawyers in solo practices and four out of five lawyers in law offices have websites. Therefore, if you find yourself in need of legal services, check online for local attorneys.
One of the most common reasons one might need an attorney is a drunk driving arrest. In fact, more than 1.4 million people are arrested each year for a DUI first offense. In Texas, in 2015 alone, there were 99,195 drunk driving arrests and 71,030 convictions. If you find yourself in this unfortunate situation in the state of Texas, you may have a number of legal questions. Before contacting a lawyer, check out the frequently asked questions listed below.
What are the state’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits?
If you are 21 years of age or older, the BAC limit is 0.08% unless you are a commercial driver, in which case the limit is 0.04%. If you are under 21 years old, it is illegal to have any detectable amount of alcohol present in your system.
I’m a minor. What happens if I am caught drinking and driving?
Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law when it comes to minors and alcohol. In the case of a first offense, consequences may include all or some of the following:
- License suspension up to one year
- $500 fine
- Participation in a 12-hour long Alcohol Education Program
- Community service and an ignition interlock device
I’m 21 or older. What are the consequences for a first DUI offense?
- A $2,000 fine
- Jail time of up to 180 days
- License suspension up to two years
- DWI intervention or education program
- Ignition interlock device
- Annual fee of up to $2,000 for the next three years in order to keep your license
Can I refuse to take a breathalyzer test?
No, you cannot. All drivers in Texas are required by law to consent to chemical tests such as blood and breath tests. Refusing a chemical test results in a 180-day Administrative License Revocation (ALR).
If you are facing a DUI charge in Texas and need legal assistance, go online and search for a qualified local attorney. Please feel free to leave any questions or comments below.